Australia

It’s been a month since I moved to Australia.
I know for so many of my international friends that seems such a HUGE move. But since I am already from down under, just a little more down. ( New Zealand )

It really only means a 3 hour plane trip.

Australia has all the comforts of home but with that added excitement of being a “foreigner” or the one with the “Strange accent”

What? I have an accent?

Strangely people think I do.

It’s comforting to walk into the supermarket and see my beloved Marmite and Vegemite.

Or see the flag flying in the wind which looks almost like mine.

It’s amusing when birds laugh at me, and a shock to see Kangaroo meat at the supermarket.

I feel so special when I know I can work in this country without the worry of a visa because of our countries special agreement.

But I had forgotten how much was involved with moving countries and the little things you take for granted like a library card, bank account, drivers licence and mobile phone.

Life is an adventure and I am excited to see what lies ahead.

Leave a comment